Blog objectives


It’s been more that 20 years since my first tryst with personal technology. My first crush was the Sony Walkman in 1979. As I took that little stereo player in my hands I felt sheer joy and exhilaration.  My uncle later presented me with a Walkman II and as the years went by I bought some Walkman players (two for professional use as a reporter/journalist). Walkman fans can read more about this innovation and its evolution here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walkman

http://www.pocketcalculatorshow.com/walkman/

I was privileged to be among the first to use the Internet in India (through NCST’s Ernet) in 1994. I witnessed the evolution of the PC and used XTs, ATs and their peripherals. I’ve pursued personal technology passionately ever since. All along, I’ve shared my research and knowledge through articles in technology publications like Express Computer, CHIP and Network Magazine—in India.

The first Sony Walkman, model TPS-L2 (1979)

The first Sony Walkman, model TPS-L2 (1979)

I am also former editor of  CHIP Magazine (India).

The personal tech crusade carries on here at Tech Wow! (https://techwow.wordpress.com).

The objective is knowledge sharing and I aim to show you how to make the best use of personal technology.

I post here every weekend, so check this blog early in the week for fresh posts.
Cheers!
Brian Pereira (http://www.linkedin.com/in/brian9p)

2 thoughts on “Blog objectives

  1. Hi

    I remember hearing music on headphones through a Sony Walkman in 82′. I remember telling my aunt who purchased it from Dubai that it feels as if “people in the room are playing music.”

    I have a large MP3 collection now and an iPod, but thinking back, the walkman was totally revolutionary.

  2. My friend was working in the IT team of a large financial firm in New Yeork, USA. He called two weeks ago that he’s been served a two-week notice. He can’t find a new job in hurry and has to come back to Delhi.

    He doesn’t mind that very much, thanks to his supportive parents, but was very taken back by the ruthlessness of it all. Plain bad luck!

Leave a Reply

